July 2018 

 ILACP President Brian Fengel (right) was among those present Monday, July 30, 2018, in Chicago when Governor Rauner signed HB 5513, which creates a new Illinois Lottery scratch-off game from which proceeds will fund police memorials, support for the families of officers killed or severely injured in the line of duty, and protective vest replacements for officers. 






 The National Organization of Black Law Enforcement Executives (NOBLE) became the first national organization to sign on to the 10 Shared priciples adopted by the ILACP and the NAACP. NOBLE signed on, on July 30, 2018 during its 42nd Annual Training Conference and Exhibition in Florida. Signing for the Illinois Chiefs, was 3rd Vice President Mitchell R. Davis, III of Hazel Crest, along with Clarence E. Cox, III, National President of NOBLE . 






On Friday, July 20th, the Special Olympics celebrated its 50th anniversary in Chicago. Pictured below are members from the Crystal Lake Police Department and CLPD Officer Ed Pluviose along with Chief Hoey (South Beloit PD) and ILACP 1st Vice President Chief Steve Stelter  accepting the Flame of Hope as it arrived from Boston. As part of this historic celebration, the Law Enforcement Torch Run will hosted a Commemorative Torch Run utilizing the Chicago Park District’s bike path that runs along Lake Michigan in downtown Chicago.




The ILACP Traffic Safety Committee and Families Against Chronic Excessive Speeding (FACES4) understands the importance of tying together the legislative, educational and engineering component of speed awareness to the enforcement component of speed awareness that law enforcement agencies can bring to the table. On this one day campaign, Speed Awareness advocates joined at a press conference to continue building partnerships that aim to keep children and families safe while driving. Lt. Governor Evelyn Sanguinetti presented a proclamation from the governor’s office. 





A few months after the events took place in Ferguson, MO, the ILACP and the NAACP partnered to form a series of open discussions, or ‘World Cafes’, to address the mistrust between the community and members of law enforcement. In these ‘World Cafes’, chiefs of police meet with leaders from communities of color to specifically discuss “what most needs our attention moving forward”. On Wednesday, July 25, the fifth 'World Cafe' was held in the Chicagoland area where leaders discussed the “10 Shared Principles” and participated in an interactive workshop. A video from the event coming soon!


 ILACP President Brian Fengel (center) presents the ILEAP plaque of certification to Oak Brook Chief James R. Kruger, Jr. (left), and to Commander Ben Kadolph, Oak Brook accreditation manager, on July 10, 2018.









 Vice President Chief Davis (far left) joined U.S. Rep. Robin Kelly at a Policing Strategies Working Group discussion, in Chicago on Monday, July 9. 






  June 2018

Two ILACP members of the Board of Officers were honored in Oakbrook Terrace on June 20, 2018, at the 22nd Salute to Those Who Make a Difference, a ceremony of the Illinois State Crime Commission. ILACP Past President James R. Kruger, Jr. (left), received the Award of Distinction in Law Enforcement, and 3rd Vice President Mitchell R. Davis III was named Police Chief of the Year. They pose with the evening's master of ceremonies, Ray Stevens of Chicago's WLS radio.






On June 15, 2018, Mayor Herb Roach, along with O'Fallon Chief Eric Van Hook and local NAACP President Francine Nicholson signed a resolution affirming the adoption of the “Ten Shared Principles”, at the City Council Meeting in O'Fallon, Illinois. 








 Chief Lou Jogmen, of Highland Park, received Police Chief Certification recognition from ILACP Vice President Bill Kushner on June 13, 2018.









Vice President Dan Ryan, Metropolis Chief Harry Masse and Mayor Billy McDaniel honor Sgt. Cody Brown, with a 2017 Life Saving Award on June 13, 2018.

Photo: From left: Vice President Ryan, Sgt. Cody Brown, Chief Masse and Mayor Billy McDaniel.  







U.S. Army Major Matt Goodwin (above) receives his Certified Police Chief certificate November 29, 2017, in Springfield, in front a roomful of his Army colleagues and commander at the U.S. Army Reserve Training Center. He was eligible because of his "chief of police" title in the military. Executive Director Ed Wojcicki made the presentation.







March 2018

The Southern Illinois University Carbondale Department of Public Safety Achieved Tier II ILEAP Accreditation. Chief Benjamin Newman (right) and Corporal Molly Pyatt, accreditation manager, accepted the plaque from ILACP Executive Director Ed Wojcicki on March 19, 2018, during a ceremony on the Carbondale campus. 







November 2017

Regina Brent gives a report

Regina Brent of the Unity Partnership in DuPage County gives a report at a meeting featuring police-min7, 2017, at 

Hamburger University in Oak Brook, Illinois. She was collaborating with Lake Zurich Chief Steve Husak, left; Captain Brian Daniell of the Union Pacific Railroad PD; Northlake Chief Norm Nissen; and Peoria Park District PD Chief Sylvester Bush.




Chief Reynolds and Pastor P. Wonder HarrisEast Moline Police Chief John Reynolds and Pastor P. Wonder Harris of the Mt. Zion Missionary Baptist Church in East Moline at a meeting featuring police-minority partnerships around the state on November 17, 2017, at Hamburger University in Oak Brook, Illinois.








Joe Switzer gets certification

Monmouth Police Chief Joe Switzer is acknowledged at the Monmouth City Council meeting on November 6, 2017, for achieving Police Chief Certification by ILACP Executive Director Ed Wojcicki.